Monday, February 8, 2016

Well... I guess I should start things off by introducing myself. My name is Melanie, I am 26 years old. I am a wife to a husband who works in the oil field in Northern British Columbia. I am a mom to one adorable adorable little boy. We also have 2 cats, and a 3 month old puppy that keeps things really interesting. My husband and I were both raised in the Lower Mainland and relocated here together. I made the ultimate sacrifice and uprooted my life there so that he could chase a new career opportunity. There has been a lot of change, big things, in my life since I turned 25. Moving a 12+ hour drive away from friends and family, finding out we were expecting our son 6 months before our intended wedding date, moving up our wedding by 3 months, getting married, purchasing our first home, giving birth to our son, getting a puppy, and my latest adventure - becoming an Usborne Books At Home Independent Consultant. As if things weren't crazy and stressful enough with a 3 month old baby and a 3 month old puppy, let's throw a home business in there just to really overwhelm me. What am I doing? I don't even know. I breastfeed. I babywear. I'm a part-time cosleeper. I like to refinish furniture. I have a habit of starting projects that I never finish (crocheted scarf that's only about the size of a dish cloth that I started almost a year ago, I'm looking at you...). I don't really know where I'm going with this, or what will come of this, but a friend suggested I start a blog about the craziness that is my life in the North with my little one and our crazy menace of a puppy... so I figured I would give it a shot. I think it will be nice to have somewhere to share my daily life... somewhere to vent my feelings, share my projects and home improvements... let's see where this takes us! Melanie, A Northern Mom/Wife.